Australian Embassy
United Arab Emirates

For the most recent advice go to and the COVID-19 section of this site.

Welcome to the Australian Embassy, UAE

Welcome to the website of the Australian Embassy in the United Arab Emirates which contains a broad range of information on the services the Embassy provides. The information and links on this site are aimed at answering the most commonly asked questions about Australia.

The site covers services for Australian citizens, as well as information on immigration, visas and citizenship. The site also contains links to the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and Australian Government websites. These links are designed to assist those looking for information on Trade, Australian culture or Government services.

Australia and the UAE cooperate across a wide range of areas including trade, defence, security, aviation, education and health. You can find out more about the Australia-UAE relationship on the DFAT website. We regularly review and update our website and would welcome feedback from visitors on how it can be improved. For regular updates on our work in the UAE, please follow us on Twitter (@AusAmbUAE), Facebook (@AusEmbUAE) and Instagram (@AusEmbUAE).

Australian Federal Election 2022

The Australian federal election was held on 21 May 2022.

For official results, please visit the AEC wesbite.

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Services for Australians

The health and safety of Australians overseas is our highest priority and all client services are currently by appointment only.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, all visitors to the Embassy must present proof of vaccination and a recent (within 14 days) negative PCR test or a Green Pass on the Al Hosn application. Those that have not been vaccinated are required to present a negative PCR test, taken within 7 days.

Australian citizens and permanent residents that have been vaccinated against COVID-19 in the UAE and carry UAE-issued Sinopharm vaccination certificates can download an Embassy issued letter, to present to your health professional in Australia for recording on the Australian Immunisation Register. 

Please follow these links for more information about consular and passport services in Abu Dhabi or Dubai during this period.

Please see below general information for travellers.

Please follow this link for more information about Visa and Citizenship Services.


Be informed and be prepared when you're travelling, Smartraveller has the latest, authoritative travel advice. Visit the Smartraveller website and subscribe to travel advice updates to be the first to know government information when you are overseas.

We encourage you to subscribe as soon as you are thinking about heading overseas. This free service gives you the latest updates to our travel advice and news. You don’t need an account to subscribe or manage your preferences, just an email address. If you add your mobile number you can choose to receive SMS 'critical alerts' for crises overseas. This service supplements the standard travel advice subscription sent via email.

Please note: if you subscribed before 21 November 2019, you’ll need to re-subscribe to the new system

Read more about the changes on the Frequently asked questions - changes to registration, subscription and the website page.

You can also connect with Smartraveller on Facebook and Twitter.

Travelling overseas ?

Please ensure that your Australian passport has at least six months’ validity remaining, as this is an entry requirement for many foreign countries. For information on applying for a passport, visit the Australian Passport Office website.

For passport interview appointments, see Contact Us.

When researching your holiday destination, please visit Smartraveller for the Australian Government’s latest travel advice. We strongly encourage you to subscribe to the travel advice so you’re well-informed for your trip overseas and notified of any updates to our travel advice and news.

The Australian Embassy is on Social Media

You can find us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Make sure you like and follow to find out more about the Australian Embassy in the UAE!

Public Holidays - 2022

  • Monday 03 January - New Year’s Day (In lieu)
  • Wednesday 26 January - Australia Day
  • Friday 15  April - Good Friday
  • Monday 18 April - Easter Monday
  • Monday 02 May - Eid Al-Fitr
  • Tuesday 03 May - Eid Al-Fitr
  • Monday 11 July - Eid Al Adha
  • Tuesday  12 July - Eid Al Adha
  • Wednesday 13 July - Eid Al Adha
  • Friday 29 July - Islamic New Year
  • Friday  02 December - UAE National Day
  • Monday  26 December - Christmas Day (In lieu)
  • Tuesday  27 December - Boxing Day (In lieu)
  • Wednesday  28 December - Additional Holiday