Australian Embassy
United Arab Emirates

Federal Election 2019

FEDERAL ELECTION 2019

The 2019 Australian federal election will be held on Saturday 18 May 2019. If you are an eligible Australian citizen living overseas you can still participate but you need to be enrolled.

To enrol, check or update your enrolment details visit www.aec.gov.au. The deadline for enrolling or updating your details for the federal election is 8pm, Thursday 18 April 2019 (Australian time in the electorate you’re enrolled).

Early voting will begin on Monday 6 May 2019 at the Australian Embassy in Abu Dhabi and on Tuesday 7 May 2019 at the Australian Consulate-General in Dubai.

Alternatively, you can apply for a postal vote online now at www.aec.gov.au.

Opening hours for voting at the Australian Embassy in Abu Dhabi

Dates:

Open from:

Open to:

Monday 6 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Tuesday 7 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Wednesday 8 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Thursday 9 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Friday 10 May 2019

CLOSED

CLOSED

Saturday 11 May 2019

CLOSED

CLOSED

Sunday 12 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Monday 13 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Tuesday 14 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Wednesday 15 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Thursday 16 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Friday 17 May 2019

CLOSED

CLOSED

Saturday 18 May 2019
ELECTION DAY

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Opening hours for voting at the Australian Consulate-General in Dubai:

Date:

Open from:

Open to:

Tuesday 7 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Wednesday 8 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Thursday 9 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Friday 10 May 2019

CLOSED

CLOSED

Saturday 11 May 2019

CLOSED

CLOSED

Sunday 12 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Monday 13 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Tuesday 14 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Wednesday 15 May 2019

12:00

16:00

Thursday 16 May 2019

09:00

16:00

Friday 17 May 2019

CLOSED

CLOSED

Saturday 18 May 2019
ELECTION DAY

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Appointments are not required.  You must provide photographic ID in order to gain access to the Australian Embassy in Abu Dhabi and the Australian Consulate-General in Dubai.  ID is not required to vote.

If you are overseas and unable to vote, complete an overseas notification form and return it to the AEC. Being overseas is a valid reason for not voting.  

Information in other languages can be found at www.aec.gov.au/translated.